Resurrection at its Finest! Fantomah #1

 Writer: Ray Fawkes

Artist: Soo Lee

Publisher: Chapterhouse

Release Date: July 26, 2017

I‘ve been waiting for Fantomah roughly since March, but I was willing to wait a little longer…until it came out in a collected edition…before I dove into it, mostly because I want to consume the first story arc all at once–like a haunting all-you-can-eat buffet.

Instead, the wonderful staff at my LCBS threw it in my subscription box knowing I would love it. (Unsolicited advice: get to know the (sometimes) smiling people behind the counter really well – they throw goodies in your mailbox!) They. Were. Right.

This story includes a lot of awesome:

  • Strong Female Protagonist – check
  • Ray Fawkes – check (I love his stuff. When I met him in Calgary in April this year, I pretty much fangirled all over him…..sorry Ray. :S Hopefully when I see him at Fan Expo Canada this fall, I’ll be able to get it together enough to make a coherent sentence aside from, “S&*t! Your stuff’s dark and twisty and awesome!” He did make a coherent response: “When it comes to dark and twisty, I don’t go halfway.”)
  • Smart story line – check
  • Engaging art – check
  • Horror and supernatural themes – double check

Fawkes resurrected Paz Gallegos’ character, putting her in a modern urban setting. Her twin sisters have been abducted, and likely suspects are her neighbourhood thugs. A confrontation goes awry and Fantomah is searching for justice. Although this is just the first issue of the story, we’re plunged into a beautifully descriptive setting. I’m really excited to see where Fawkes takes us.

Fantomah as a character has a deep history, pre-dating Wonder Woman, and although I’m not very familiar with her development and history…I want to be. This story pulls you in, leaves you yearning to discover more from the past, but entices you to look forward to the next chapter of her story. Fawkes has yet to disappoint me, present material included, as he does an incredible with dark, psychological stories. When it comes to discovering the depths of what his characters can and will do, he really doesn’t go halfway.

The art in is series is beautifully haunting and striking. Like Fantomah as a character, I’m not familiar with Lee’s previous work in Fight Like a Girl, but I want to be. I feel like I’m missing out. I’ll need to find that series. The bold lines and vibrant colour palette pull you into the page. In the pivotal point of the story, she presents a full-page splash that brings you falling right alongside Paz. This is mesmerizing.

My only disappointment with this comic is that I’m left wanting more…and I’ll have to wait for it. I think my first instincts were right–to wait for the collected edition–but I’m glad I had this presented in my mailbox this week. Like a good story is supposed to, it’s left me hungry.

This reboot of Fantomah reminds me of Azzarello and Risso’s 100 Bullets. It has a very mysterious urban vibe – in both the story and the art. I don’t know where the story is going, but I’m willing to follow along.

Who I’d recommend this to:

  • Anyone who likes their comics with a deeper, darker edge
  • Anyone currently following the new Chapterhouse universe – I’m not sure how, but I have a feeling Fantomah may play a small part in the rest of Chapterhouse’s more current relaunches.
  • Colourful language is scratched out, so I’d be comfortable putting this in the hands of a more mature teen

Fantomah #1 is currently available at your local comic book store and online at Chapterhouse Comics.

Leave a comment